Thread: (11 y/o female Border collie mix) Oreo

Default (11 y/o female Border collie mix) Oreo

I just want to say, I'm a newbie to this site, my name is Kris and my 11 yr old female Border collie mix, Oreo has been diagnosis with Cushing's. I want to say as a Acupuncture Physician, I can't believe that not many of you on this site are embracing a 5000 yr old tradition. Acupuncture and chinese herbal medicine can help all our dogs, cure them maybe not, but the idea is to manage symptoms and this medicine can be used in conjunction with the "chemo drugs". The problem with using this medicine is not many holistic vets have enough training to be able to write an herbal formula and understand how to change the formula as needed. And I haven't meet very many vets that understand nutrition. So, my advise to you all is to do your due dilligence, DON"T ASK YOUR NON-HOLISTIC VET ABOUT WHAT BRAND OF DOG FOOD to buy, they don't not have nutrition classes as part of their studies and are bias from Science Diet giving them free food for their pet(s) while they are in vet school, as evidence of having the Science Diet food in their offices', which is the worst food on the market with corn and wheat as fillers, causing many of the dogs' allergies and then the vet puts the dogs on pred, anyway. So far Oreo symptoms are mild, started panting alittle at night, always hungry and drinking just alittle more and of course that pot-bellied apperance. All these signs are too much heat in the body, so I am giving her a Chinese herbal formula called Long Dan Xie Gan Tang and in 2 days her panting has stopped, she drinks less water and doesn't seem to be as hungry. I am going to recommend a holistic veterinary book for those of you who are interested, it is called, Manual of Natural Veterinary Medicine by Susan Wynn and Steve Marsden, both DVM, it gives treatment options for 130 common conditions and they mentioned the above herbal formula as well as using Ginko to bind with the cortisol for