Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Introducing Pepper

Default Introducing Pepper

I'm so grateful for the community the members and admins have created here. My life has been a whirlwind for the past few weeks and it would be great to share my story.

Pepper is a 9 year old shih-tzu/maltese. His story starts in March 2022, when he tore his ACL chasing a squirrel. Since I used to work as a vet tech, we elected to just rest him and let the ACL heal on its own. He was also his heaviest at this time (17lbs) so he started a strict diet. Even without exercise, he started losing 0.5 lbs a week, but also at this time his appetite went CRAZY, which we attributed to the lower calories and no more snacks and treats. End of March he eats 30 chocolate covered raisins my sister left out but with great vet support his kidneys didn't feel a thing. In May he starts waking up at 7am to pee (usually could sleep in until noon) but we assume he adopted my sister's school schedule. End of May he gets a dew claw infections that takes 3 weeks to heal. He's almost completely better on his ACL leg, but I start to notice his hind legs start bending a bunch when he walks and he started limping. He's had arthritis in the past so we were told not to really worry about it. Beginning of June he has two incidents of urinary incontinence overnight and we take him to the vet, and he's treated for a UTI. The vet also notices that his submandibular lymph nodes are very swollen and we perform a cytology that comes back negative. Two weeks later the urine is re-checked, the UTI is resolved, but he still occasionally urinates in his sleep. The vet recommended xrays and ultrasound but we decided to wait a week to see if it would resolve (because $$$$), and it did. Beginning of July his arthritis is still bad so I make an appointment at a holistic vet to try acupuncture and chiro. By the time the visit comes around 2 weeks later his hair is thinning, his belly has black dots, he has an abscess on the undersi