Thread: Roxy - Possible Cushing's sufferer

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Roxy - Possible Cushing's sufferer

Hi All,
    Super happy to have found this site and hoping I can get a little guidance from dog lovers that have sadly had to go thru these kind of problems with their furry loved ones.

I am fairly new to the cushings discussion and quite honestly not sure Roxy has cushings at all.
    I do know we have been battling to find an answer to her health issues without much luck to this point. We have spent quite alot of money already trying to get her better and really need to pick and choose the tests and procedures going forward. Having said all that let me give a overview of the situation.

Roxy is a 13 year old Spayed Female 23 lb Dachshund / Cocker Spaniel mix.

About a year and a half ago she began getting UTI infections. We treated them per vet instructions and the UTI would go away for a short time. But they would return. We would run cultures etc to see what medication would work best to kill the UTI and then go with that medication for the time frame dictated by the vet. This has gone on now thru I believe 4 UTI bouts so far . The last medication we used was Primor and the current UTI we are fighting we are using Simpicef.

We are currently also giving Roxy Proin to help with incontinence.

I want to mention too that about 6 weeks ago we had Roxy’s teeth worked on. She had developed plaque build up on her teeth that was pretty bad and resulted in 10 teeth being pulled. I feel bad that they got to that point but by the time we realized they were bad and could swing the cost of doing the procedure Roxy was quite uncomfortable . After the dental work she seemed much happier and we agreed it was worth the cost .