Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Vetoryl questions (Kira - 13 y/o) - Kira has passed

Default Vetoryl questions (Kira - 13 y/o) - Kira has passed

Hello,
    I am new to cushings, as my 13 year old dog was just formally diagnosed yesterday. Her symptoms include: pot belly, muscle weakness in the hind end, sensitivity to temperature (I keep my house set at 68!), and increased thirst. I've thought she had cushings for some time and chose to treat it homeopathicaly. However, when her symptoms became uncomfortable to her I decided to have her evaluated by a vet.
    The low dose dex test cam back inconclusive (because he inital pull was in the normal range). We then did the ATCH test and that came back positive. The vet felt faily confident that she has cushings because of the clinical presentation and the test results.
    After doing A LOT of research I asked the vet for Vetoryl because it appeared to be the safest and most effective drug.
    My vet is not too familar with Vetoryl so I am having to do a lot of my own research. The starting dose the vet recommended was 60 mg per day (Kira weighs 60 pounds). Everything I've read seems to indicate that I should be giving her 1mg/2 pounds. Does 60 mg seem high?
    So far she has had two doses of the Vetoryl (60 mg spread over 18 hours) and I have noticed a lack of appetite and increased weakness. Is this a natural reaction to beginning a drug like Vetoryl that is meant to supress hormones? Or is this something that I should give her the prednisone for? I am thinking of skipping tonights dose and dropping her back to 30 mg per day.
    Please help, as I truly need advice from those of you who have been working with Cushings for some time!!

Thank you,
    Jennifer and Kira

Default Re: Cushings - Vetoryl questions

Hi Jennifer,

Corky and I want to welcome you and Kira.