Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Our Maggie (09/11/02 - 05/15/11)

Default Our Maggie (09/11/02 - 05/15/11)

Hi. This is my first time on here and I wanted to reply to your post. I have read some of the posts from other pet owners who are dealing with their babies who have cushings.

I wanted to say that we just lost our baby girl Maggie three days ago on Sunday 5/15/11. She was diagnosed with Cushings back in March.

She had been to our vet quite a bit for a lot of testing and had been put on Trilostane 5 weeks ago. Before that she was on Vetoryl for about 3 weeks.

When we switched her from Vetoryl to Trilostane we had her tested again to see how her body was responding. The vet told us she looked good and the tests came back at a good read for us to continue her dosage.

Sunday morning I was going to make her next appointment. I woke up at 6:30am and she got up with me as normal. She was acting perfectly fine and energetic to eat as she normally is.

I took her and our other lab Max out for a restroom break and she peed and was the first back up the stairs and excited to eat.

I fed them both, giving Maggie her one Trilostane pill as I had every morning for the past 5 weeks. I did my normal morning routine and she followed me around and when I sat down and after my husband got up later we noticed she was getting unsettled.

It seemed she couldn't get comfortable. She kept situating and and re-situating and would move to another spot. I went over to her and petted her and checked on her and I took her collar off which isn't very tight and caressed her a bit and she moved to another spot.

I sat there watching her and she acted like she was going to cough up once (just once) and then went back to re-situating.

I told my husband I was going to take them for a walk thinking maybe she needed to go to the bathroom again and was acting different this time. Normally she rings a bell we have hanging by the door when she has to go to the bathroom.