PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone had any experience with holistic treatments? (14 y/o Lab mix)

ChumsMom
04-10-2014, 08:52 PM
Hi all! I am totally new to this, and hate to post a question right off the bat, but I don't really know enough to be of help to anyone. Anyway, here is our story.

My 14 year old Lab mix, Chumley, has never had any health issues. We've had no real aging problems (no major thirst, major hunger, or potty accidents). The only thing we've noticed is a LOT more shedding and dry skin.

Two days ago, Chums had what seems to have been a stroke or TIA. The vet ran labs, and everything was fine but her liver enzymes were high. An ultrasound showed a small mass in her liver, but they couldn't biopsy. It also showed a UTI and very swollen adrenals. They also ran several urine tests and all pointed to Cushings.

Today, she still seems loopy, but is walking some and eating, so she's home. We will be going back to the vet for the cushings test on Tuesday, but they are 99% sure she has it. Our vet said we'd need to think about what treatments we want to do, or if we want to treat. She said many internists think there is no need to treat a dog without symptoms.

The docs seem to think she will make a full recovery from the stroke. I just don't want it to happen again. So I'm scared to not treat cushings if she has it, but I don't want to put her through too much in the way of side effects. A friend rec'd lignans and our vet said we could try, but I'd love to hear experiences from those who've been there.

Thanks!!

lulusmom
04-11-2014, 06:37 AM
Hi and welcome to the forum.