PDA

View Full Version : To test now or later? (Clooney, 13-year old poodle mix)

clovermw
02-12-2010, 06:02 PM
Hi, I've never used a discussion board/forum before...so hope I'm doing this right. My bottom line question is: Should I get my dog tested now for Cushing's, or do I wait until his symptoms become worse (or "clinical", as one of the vets suggested)?

The background: I have a roughly 13-year old poodle mix (seems mostly poodle) named Clooney who seems to have mildy excessive thirst and urination (more later on this). He is in good general health, especially for a dog his age. I noticed about 9 months ago that he seemed to be drinking more water than is usual for him - drinking much longer, sometimes getting up at night to drink. He started having occasional accidents (urinating) but also seemed to have stool accidents. Both were usually in the morning if we didn't let him out right away. Usually he is excited about food being around too (especially with pooping accidents). I figured both were due to his age, maybe old-age incontinence. He pretty much lost his hearing around 18 months ago, and also seems to have an on and off fungal/bacterial skin infection - the vet said this probably is the same infection never fully cleared.