Thread: New to this and in need of direction

Default New to this and in need of direction

Hello! My name is Moe and my 13 year old fox terrier mix Nugget is being tested for cushings. He's just been tested today and we are waiting for results. In the meantime he's been on denamarin and eating the hills g/d brand from the vet. Being a complete newbie, I googled. my vet initially told me that changing his diet could help dramatically and said things about turkey and fish. So I thought heck I got this.... wrong. Since we didn't have a diagnosis yet and there's not many specific recipes for cushings. I have not been through all the threads on here so please forgive. So I decided to wait and have been giving the hills watered down and mushed and adding grain free wet food for taste. Went to vet today asking questions on recipes and which food is best and affordable to get. Her reply to me was she didn't believe in grain free and that's its s fad and only to feed him hills until and if we get him regulated after medications and time. I have to be honest and say I have to penny punch and find some kind of discounts. I take care of my toddler and my mother pretty much in my own. I have read that a good diet can help and a mixed one is just as good. I need s dummy book it feels and she made me feel like all that I've read was bogus and for nothing. I don't want to make the wrong food for him, upset us stomach or worse and stress myself out worrying about wether it's right or not for cushings. A few recipes to get me started and more time on this site I think will help. I also at this time can't afford a second opinion from the vet and it is early to say because I have no test results. Are there commercial brands out there that won't break the bank? Or kill my pup? Homemade recipes? Opinions on my vet? Am I on the right track? My family actually wants me to put him down!! Im stressed with nobody in my corner.

Default Re: New to this and in need of direction